Akihabara

Best maid cafés in Akihabara: which one to pick — prices, English and photo rules compared (as of 2026-09-23)

Four Akihabara maid cafés compared on what you actually pay, how long you can stay, English support, photo rules and opening hours: @home cafe (¥850 admission + one drink), Maidreamin (¥880 per hour + order), Cure Maid Café and Cafe Mai:lish (no seat charge posted). All figures from each café's official site, checked 2026-09-23.

@home cafe signs on the Mitsuwa Building in Akihabara, Tokyo, at night (photo taken in 2010)
Ryo FUKAsawa / CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

For a first maid café in Akihabara, pick @home cafe if you want the classic show with English-trained maids, or Maidreamin if you want to photograph the room, stay out until 23:00 or have a drink; pick Cure Maid Café or Cafe Mai:lish if you would rather not pay a seat charge — neither posts one on its official site. An adult pays ¥850 admission plus one drink at @home cafe, or ¥880 per hour plus an order at Maidreamin (tax included, as of 2026-09-23).

This page compares four Akihabara maid cafés on the things that decide which door you should walk through: what you pay before you eat, how long you can stay, whether English is supported, what you may photograph, and when they are open. It is not every maid café in Akihabara — it is four that publish their prices and rules on their own websites, so you can check before you go. Every figure below comes from those official sites and was checked on 2026-09-23 (sources at the bottom).

How to behave once you are inside — the greetings, the chants, the no-touching rule — is in our maid café etiquette guide. The camera question on its own is covered in depth in can you take photos in a maid café.

Which one to pick (as of 2026-09-23)

If you want…Go toWhy
The classic tourist experience, with English@home cafeIts FAQ says every maid gets English lessons when she joins; sets bundle a drink with a cheki photo
Photos of the room, late hours or alcoholMaidreaminPhotos and video are allowed if no maids, kitchen staff or other guests are in the shot; open until 23:00; bar pricing from 20:00
A tea break with no seat charge postedCure Maid CaféCoffee and soft drinks from ¥600, original teas ¥770–¥880; rotating anime collaboration cafés; closes at 20:00
A small café with no table charge and a longer stayCafe Mai:lishOne order per 90 minutes, no table charge; Japanese-language website only

The four cafés side by side

@home cafeMaidreaminCure Maid CaféCafe Mai:lish
Adult entry / seat charge¥850 admission + one drink or set¥880 per hour + food and drink (until 20:00)None listed on the official store pageNo table charge (stated)
Time limit1 hourCharged per hour; extend at the same rateEntry and time may be limited when crowdedPlease give up the seat after 90 minutes when busy
EnglishMaids get English lessons when they join“English support OK”Not statedNot stated
PhotosFood only, after asking a maid; no video or audioPhotos and video OK if no maids, kitchen staff or guests are in framePhotos and SNS posts OK without guests or staff in frame; no videoFood only, after telling staff; no photos or video of the room or staff
HoursWeekdays 11:00–22:00; weekends and holidays 10:00–22:00Head Store Mon–Fri 11:30–23:00; Sat, Sun and holidays 10:30–23:0011:00–20:00Mon, Tue, Thu 14:00–22:00; Fri–Sun and holidays 12:00–22:00; closed Wednesdays
BookingOnline priority tickets (include a food or dessert set); otherwise queueOnline reservation form; walk-ins welcomeOnly for Supporter Card holders; numbered tickets when busyBy phone, weekdays only

All prices are tax included, as shown on each café's site.

What a first visit costs

The entry fee is only half the bill — every café here expects you to order. These examples use the cafés' own published prices.

CaféCheapest way in (adult)A typical first visit
@home cafe¥850 admission + a drink: ¥1,570 until 30 September 2026 (drink ¥720), ¥1,600 from 1 October 2026 (drink ¥750)¥850 + Drink Course (a soft drink and a cheki photo with a maid): ¥2,540 until 30 September 2026 (course ¥1,690), ¥2,600 from 1 October 2026 (course ¥1,750)
Maidreamin¥880 + one order¥880 + Plain Omelette Rice ¥1,320 = ¥2,200 before a drink. Maidreamin's own budget guide: from ¥1,500 for a soft-drink break, ¥2,500–¥3,500 with alcohol and a live show
Cure Maid CaféNo seat charge or minimum order listed; drinks from ¥600 (coffee, soft drinks, iced teas), original pot teas ¥770–¥880Collaboration-café menus are priced separately on each collab page
Cafe Mai:lishOne order per 90 minutesMenu prices are posted only as images, so we could not confirm them

@home cafe prices change on 1 October 2026. Its Japanese official site announced a price rise from 1 June 2026 (notice of 25 May 2026) and another from 1 October 2026 (notice of 16 September 2026). The figures on this page follow those Japanese notices. @home cafe's English-language menu page still showed the older, pre-June prices when we checked.

@home cafe — the classic show, with English

@home cafe has three Akihabara locations: the Main Building (Mitsuwa Building 3F–7F, 1-11-4 Sotokanda), with five cafés on different floors; Don Quijote Akihabara 5F (4-3-3 Sotokanda); and Akiba Cultures Zone 5F (1-7-6 Sotokanda), with two cafés side by side. You can read our venue page for the Akihabara main store.

  • Charges: admission is ¥850 for adults (ages 23–59) on a first visit. The Japanese official site sets the discount by age, taken from the date of birth you register: ¥600 for ages 19–22 and for 60 and over, ¥400 for ages 13–18, free for 12 and under. Everyone orders at least one drink or one course. From 1 October 2026 the discounts are stated as ¥250 off for ages 19–22 and 60+, and ¥450 off for ages 13–18 (so ¥600 and ¥400 on a first visit). Children of elementary-school age and under still get in free, but elementary-school children must order one drink. Soft drinks cost ¥720 until 30 September 2026 and ¥750 from 1 October 2026.
  • Courses: until 30 September 2026, Drink Course ¥1,690, Dessert Course ¥2,610, Food Course ¥2,810, Full Course ¥3,810. From 1 October 2026: ¥1,750, ¥2,700, ¥2,900 and ¥3,930. Each course includes a soft drink and a cheki (instant photo) with a maid. A cheki on its own costs ¥870 (large ¥1,080) until 30 September 2026, and ¥900 (large ¥1,110) from 1 October 2026.
  • Time: one hour. If the café is not crowded you can ask for a “loop”, which restarts the hour — including the admission fee. The menu page says that if service is slow at busy times, the café extends your time at no extra charge.
  • English: the official FAQ says each maid receives English lessons when she joins, while noting that language skills vary from maid to maid.
  • Photos: the house rules ban video and audio recording and ask you not to capture maids or other guests. The FAQ is stricter: only food photos are allowed, and you must ask a maid first. “Unauthorized photos, videos, or recordings” are on the list of acts that can lead to expulsion and a permanent ban.
  • Booking: priority tickets are sold online for the Main Building, Akiba Cultures Zone and Don Quijote cafés, and each is valid only at the location it was bought for (at the Main Building, the floor is decided on the day). Each ticket covers priority admission plus a food or dessert, a soft drink and a cheki, for a one-hour stay; you arrive at your slot or within 30 minutes after it. On cosplay-event days, priority entry seats you in a café that is not running the cosplay event, and the Akiba Cultures Zone ticket does not cover the cafés running the Sumikko Gurashi collaboration. Tickets are non-refundable (the page mentions an upgraded refund option), and membership discounts do not apply. Without a ticket, you join the queue at the entrance.
  • Payment: the Japanese official site says cash is accepted, as are credit cards with contactless or IC-chip payment (the English site names Visa, Mastercard, JCB, American Express and UnionPay) and PayPay, WeChat Pay, Alipay, au PAY, d Payment and Rakuten Pay. It also takes electronic money (QUICPay, iD and transit IC cards such as Suica and PASMO), but says it will stop accepting electronic money in October 2026.

Maidreamin — room photos allowed, open late

Maidreamin lists seven Akihabara stores: the Head Store, AKIBA, Idol-dori, Electric Town-exit, Chuo-dori, LIVE RESTAURANT Heaven's Gate and Sotokanda 1-Chome. The Head Store is on the 6th floor of the Sumiyoshi Building, 3-16-17 Sotokanda — see our Maidreamin Head Store page.

  • Charges (from opening to 20:00): entry ¥880 per hour for adults, ¥440 for guests aged 60+, ¥660 for university and vocational students, ¥550 for junior-high and high-school students, ¥330 for elementary-school children, free under elementary age — plus food and drink. You can extend at the same hourly rate. Arrivals after 22:00 pay a flat ¥2,500 that includes one drink. Maidreamin's first-visit guide says there are no tips or hidden service charges.
  • Evenings: from 20:00 the stores switch to the “maidreamin HYPER” bar system: ¥2,500 for one drink per hour, ¥3,800 for 60 minutes of all-you-can-drink, or ¥6,000 all-you-can-drink until 23:00, with no service fee or table charge. The Japanese FAQ says HYPER runs Monday to Saturday and not on Sundays or on public holidays (a holiday that falls on a Friday or Saturday still has it); official event days use the normal system.
  • Hours: Head Store Monday–Friday 11:30–23:00; Saturday, Sunday and holidays 10:30–23:00.
  • English: the first-visit guide says English support is available for overseas guests, and there is an English site with its own reservation link.
  • Photos: the FAQ says photos and video inside the store are fine as long as no maids, kitchen staff or other guests appear in them. Photos with a maid are a paid cheki (Maidreamin also offers digital photos and “voice cheki”).
  • Payment: cash, Visa, Mastercard, JCB, American Express and Diners, plus PayPay, Rakuten Pay, au PAY, WeChat Pay and Alipay.

Cure Maid Café — tea, no seat charge posted

Cure Maid Café describes itself as “Japan's first maid café”, founded in 2001, with staff in classical maid uniforms and a relaxing “healing space” concept. It is on the 4th floor of the Onoden Building (1-2-7 Sotokanda), inside the Gee! Store Akiba shop; the café's site has step-by-step directions from the Electric Town gate of JR Akihabara Station.

  • Charges: the official store information page lists no seat or table charge and no minimum-order rule. Coffee and soft drinks start at ¥600 (floats ¥770); original pot teas cost ¥770–¥880, and the organic iced, sparkling and separate teas ¥600.
  • Hours: 11:00–20:00; last food order 19:00, last drink order 19:30. The café posts day-specific hour changes on its news page.
  • Anime collaborations: it runs collaboration cafés in rotation. The Mushoku Tensei: Chronicle of Echoes collab café runs 18 September–4 October 2026, followed by an as:9-nine ARTEISIA café from 10 to 25 October 2026.
  • Crowds: when busy it switches to numbered tickets, issued online (GPS-based) or in store. Seat reservations are only for holders of a valid Cure Maid Café Supporter Card, and entry or length of stay may be limited when crowded.
  • Photos: photos and SNS posts are allowed as long as other guests and staff are not in the frame. Video is not allowed, nor are photos of exhibits marked “no photography”.
  • English: the official site is in Japanese only and does not mention English support.
  • Payment: Visa, Mastercard, JCB, American Express, Diners, Discover and UnionPay; J-Debit; iD, nanaco, Rakuten Edy, QUICPay and WAON; transit IC cards such as Suica and PASMO; and QR payments including PayPay, Rakuten Pay, d Payment, au PAY, Merpay, Bank Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay.

Cafe Mai:lish — small, no table charge, 90 minutes

Cafe Mai:lish is a small café on the 2nd floor of FH Kyowa Square, 3-6-2 Sotokanda. Its site gives the walk as eight minutes from Akihabara Station, or a short walk from Exit 3 of Suehirocho Station on the Tokyo Metro Ginza Line. Staff wear maid outfits or character cosplay, and Thursdays are “Classical Maid Day” (except on event days).

  • Charges: a 90-minute one-order system with no table charge. When the café is busy you are asked to give up your seat after 90 minutes, and on crowded event days it may run fixed 90-minute seatings.
  • Hours: Monday, Tuesday and Thursday 14:00–22:00; Friday, Saturday, Sunday and holidays 12:00–22:00; closed Wednesdays. Last food order 21:00, last drink order 21:30.
  • Extras: free Wi-Fi and power outlets you can use.
  • Booking: seat reservations by phone (03-5289-7310) on weekdays only — Monday, Tuesday and Thursday 14:00–20:00, Friday 12:00–20:00 — up to one month ahead. No reservations on weekends, holidays or during events.
  • Photos: no photos, video or recording of the interior or the staff (some displays excepted). You may photograph the food you ordered — tell staff first — keeping other guests, staff and no-photo areas out of the shot; staff may ask to check your photos.
  • English and payment: the site is Japanese only and does not mention English support or list the payment methods it accepts.

Before you go

  • Pick by rule, not by rating. The biggest difference between these four is the photo rule and the charge model, so decide what matters to you first. At @home cafe and Maidreamin, a photo with a maid is a paid cheki; Cure Maid Café and Cafe Mai:lish do not mention one on their official sites.
  • Carry some cash for Mai:lish. The other three list card and QR payments (and @home cafe and Maidreamin say they take cash); Mai:lish's site lists no payment methods, so carry some cash as a backup.
  • Weekends are busiest. @home cafe's own FAQ says weekends bring the longest queues; weekdays are calmer.
  • Children are welcome at the two big chains. Admission is free for ages 12 and under at @home cafe (from 1 October 2026 elementary-school children must still order one drink), and for under elementary age at Maidreamin (elementary-school children pay ¥330).
  • Need a proper meal with dietary limits? For halal and vegetarian options near the station, see UMAMI HUNT's Akihabara food guide. To fit a café into a full day, use our Akihabara guide and one-day Akihabara itinerary.

Not confirmed on the official sites (as of 2026-09-23)

  • The price of @home cafe's online priority tickets (shown only inside the booking system)
  • Maidreamin's cheki prices and most drink prices (the Japanese menu is published as images)
  • Whether Cure Maid Café or Cafe Mai:lish have English-speaking staff or an English menu
  • Whether Cure Maid Café or Cafe Mai:lish offer photos with maids (neither official site mentions a cheki)
  • Cafe Mai:lish's menu prices and accepted payment methods

Sources (all checked 2026-09-23)

  • at-home cafe official Japanese site (cafe-athome.com): pricing system page; notices “Menu price change” (25 May 2026, effective 1 June 2026) and “[October 2026] Menu price change” (16 September 2026, effective 1 October 2026)
  • at-home cafe official English site: Menu, FAQs, Locations, Tickets (Akihabara, English and Japanese pages). Its menu prices predate the June 2026 change, so we used the Japanese notices for prices
  • maidreamin official site: Pricing system, FAQ, maidreamin HYPER, first-visit guide; maidreamin global site: Locations
  • Cure Maid Café official site: top page, Store information, Grand menu (tea and soft drinks), Mushoku Tensei collaboration café page
  • Cafe Mai:lish official site: About, Access

--- Update log: published 2026-09-23 (prices, hours, photo rules and booking rules checked on each café's official site). @home cafe prices follow its Japanese notices: the 1 June 2026 prices, plus the prices announced for 1 October 2026.

FAQ

Which maid café in Akihabara is best for English speakers?
@home cafe and Maidreamin both address English speakers on their official sites. @home cafe says every maid gets English lessons when she joins (skills vary), and Maidreamin's first-visit guide says English support is available and it runs an English booking site. Cure Maid Café and Cafe Mai:lish have Japanese-only sites and do not mention English support (checked 2026-09-23).
How much does a maid café in Akihabara cost?
At @home cafe an adult pays ¥850 admission plus at least one drink or course: from ¥1,570 until 30 September 2026 (¥720 drink) and from ¥1,600 from 1 October 2026 (¥750 drink). A Drink Course with a cheki photo brings it to ¥2,540 until 30 September, or ¥2,600 from 1 October. Maidreamin charges ¥880 per hour plus food and drink, and its own guide puts a soft-drink visit from ¥1,500. Cure Maid Café lists no seat charge or minimum order (drinks from ¥600, original teas ¥770–¥880) and Cafe Mai:lish states it has no table charge. Tax included; checked 2026-09-23.
Can I take photos inside a maid café in Akihabara?
It depends on the café. Maidreamin allows photos and video if no maids, kitchen staff or other guests are in the shot. Cure Maid Café allows photos and SNS posts without guests or staff in frame, but no video. @home cafe and Cafe Mai:lish allow only photos of your own food, after asking staff. At @home cafe and Maidreamin, a photo with a maid is a paid cheki (at @home cafe ¥870 until 30 September 2026, ¥900 from 1 October 2026); Cure Maid Café and Cafe Mai:lish do not mention one on their official sites.
Do I need a reservation for a maid café in Akihabara?
Not for @home cafe or Maidreamin: you can queue or walk in. @home cafe also sells online priority tickets that include a food or dessert set (on cosplay-event days, priority entry seats you in a café that is not running the cosplay event), and Maidreamin has an online reservation form. Cure Maid Café reserves seats only for Supporter Card holders and uses numbered tickets when busy; Cafe Mai:lish takes phone reservations on weekdays only.
Which Akihabara maid café lets you stay the longest?
Cafe Mai:lish runs a 90-minute one-order system with no table charge. @home cafe limits a visit to one hour; if it is not crowded you can ask for a “loop”, which restarts the hour and the admission fee. Maidreamin charges ¥880 per hour, and you can extend at the same rate or leave whenever you like.
What time do Akihabara maid cafés close?
Maidreamin's Akihabara stores close at 23:00, @home cafe at 22:00 (last order 40 minutes earlier), Cafe Mai:lish at 22:00 (closed Wednesdays) and Cure Maid Café at 20:00, as of 2026-09-23. From 20:00 Maidreamin switches to bar pricing from ¥2,500 on Monday–Saturday (not on Sundays or on public holidays that fall Monday–Thursday).
OTAKU COMPASS Editorial
  • Otaku culture editor

On-the-ground coverage of otaku Japan — shops, cafés, events.